Language:


Global Warnings on UnOKed Records

The integration between the different modules in Enterprise by HansaWorld means that Nominal Ledger Transactions can be generated automatically when you mark as OK and save records in other ledgers and registers. These other ledgers and registers have been given the term "Sub Systems" in the program and these manuals. For example, when you approve an Invoice in the Sales Ledger, this can cause a Nominal Ledger Transaction to be generated automatically, debiting a Debtor Account and crediting a Sales Account and, if appropriate, a VAT Account.

When you enter a Sub System record such as an Invoice, you can save it as many times as necessary before marking it as OK. This can be useful if, for example, you want to check that the record is correct before committing it to the Nominal Ledger.

On the other hand, there may be situations where you need Sub System records to be marked as OK immediately. This may be the case if you are printing Invoices on stationery with pre-printed Official Serial Numbers, in which case you need to be sure that the Official Serial Numbers on the stationery and in the Invoice records correspond. This can also be the case in stock registers, especially if you are using a Queued Cost Model. In this situation, you must make certain that you enter all stock transactions in strict chronological order. Failure to do this may cause your FIFO/LIFO queue to become incorrect. You should not, for example, enter a Delivery with yesterday's date if you have already entered an outgoing stock transaction of any kind (e.g. Delivery, Stock Depreciation) with today's.

You can use the Global Warnings on UnOKed Records setting to help ensure Sub System records are always marked as OK immediately. In a multi-user system, the options that you choose in this setting will apply to every user, but you can set different options for a particular user. To choose options for a particular user, use the User Warnings on UnOKed Records setting in the System module and enter separate records for each user. The user will be given warnings irrespective of the client machine they are using.

To open the Global Warnings on UnOKed Records setting, ensure you are in the System module and click the [Settings] button in the Master Control panel. Then, double-click 'Global Warnings on UnOKed Records' in the 'Settings' list. The following window opens::

Tick the options as necessary and then, to save changes and close the window, click the [Save] button. To close the window without saving changes, click the close box.

To set warning options for a particular user, ensure you are in the System module and click the [Settings] button in the Master Control panel. Then, double-click 'User Warnings on UnOKed Records' in the 'Settings' list. To create a new record, click the [New] button in the Button Bar, or highlight a record in the list that is similar to the one that you are about to create and click [Duplicate].

The following window opens:

Signature
Paste Special    Person register, System module
Specify the user, using 'Paste Special' if necessary. You will only be able to enter one record for a particular Person.

Name
The Person's Name will be brought in when you enter their Signature in the field above.
Click the options as follows:
Default
When the user saves a record that had not been marked as OK, a warning will be or will not be given, depending on how you have configured the Global Warnings on UnOKed Records setting.

Warning
When the user saves a record that had not been marked as OK, a warning will be given.

No Warning
When the user saves a record that had not been marked as OK, a warning will not be given.
When the record is complete, click the [Save] button in the Button Bar to save changes and close it using the close box, or click the close box if you don't want to save changes.

If a particular user does not have access to the System module, they can create or change their own record in the User Warnings on UnOKed Records setting by changing to the User Settings module and opening the Warnings on UnOKed Records setting. The user will be shown their own record from the User Warnings setting. Any changes that the user makes will update this record. If the user does not have a record in the User Warnings setting, one will be created when they close the window and choose to save changes. The user will not be able to change any other user's records from the User Settings module.

If you specify that a warning will be issued whenever you try to save a record that you have not marked as OK, the record will be saved, and then the following warning will appear:

Click the buttons as follows:
Close
The warning will be closed, and the record will be left as it is.

OK and Save
The warning will be closed, the record will be marked as OK and saved again, and the appropriate Nominal Ledger Transaction will be created.

Warn me next time
Uncheck this option if you want to prevent the warning appearing in the future when you save records in the same register that you have not marked as OK. This will update your record in the User Warnings on UnOKed Records setting i.e. it will not affect any other users.
---

Settings in the System module: